I sat in a field one autumn night,
the moon, dark like the devil’s heart.
All the foliage remains high; a spectrum
painted with brush strokes vibrant and crisp.

Unseen and unnoticed
oblivious to the future’s conundrum.
Silently minds tossed ideas falling flat
the big winner unloved; unsavory.

Blank expressions offered hope and life,
yet weak to the looks you proffer; alive
from your passing, yet sad in how sweetly
you tucked in your wings and fell.

Every day now, the truths of solitude have dulled,
cutting and shredding like an un-sharpened blade; sculpting.
This dale, grass taller and moist, tears from eyes
gray, where living colors play, one autumn night.

With polar similarity to Neutral Tones by Thomas Hardy

© Copyright Walter J. Wojtanik – 2013

Written for NaPoWriMo 2013 – Day 30 – Opposite Words

5 thoughts on “VIBRANT HUES

  1. Hi, Walt!
    I have missed you on Poetic Asides this PAD. Robert suggested that I look for you on your blog…dah! (slapping self on the head) why didn’t I think of that!

    Hope all is well…I will read your poems as I can.

    Blessings, L

    1. Thanks for looking for me Linda. I had decided not to post at Poetic Asides this April (although I visited daily for the prompt and to read) Robert always said to step out of your comfort zone and that was pretty much what I did. The revelation is (and always had been) that I’m a small poetic fish in a grand poetic ocean. Too much work and irritating the masses with my proclivity has alienated many who once lauded my words. So be it. I write for myself now and if good folk such as yourself come to read my works, they did so willingly. My words remain here (as well as the other blogs that I maintain) and you’re always most welcome to visit!

  2. May I visit, too?
    I’ve enjoyed your poem, Walt, such lusciously rich language rendering profound incurable sadness. I especially like the somewhat unorthodox description of the moon: “dark like the devil’s heart.”
    Thank you.

    1. Sasha, you are also always welcome! All are welcome. I guess my insecurity wants to know people want to read my words and not be forced to because of the glut of work I write.

Leave a Reply

