BEYOND THE SEA

Somewhere beyond the sea,
horizons stretch offering vistas
of opportunity; a chance to enhance
the lives we’ve chosen.
Frozen in time, preserved,
it serves to remind ourselves
that we find ourselves
on the right course.
We become a force of nature,
and of a stature to make a splash,
somewhere beyond the sea.

© Copyright Walter J. Wojtanik – 2013

Suggested by POETIC ASIDES Day 20 – (A “Beyond” Poem)

SEIZE THE DAY

Life is rife with important days, no one more important than the one we’re living in. And instead of giving in, we strive to survive. The days lately revolve around a big day a month away. My daughter’s wedding day. And while I’ll accompany her down the aisle, I’ll take a back seat and not compete; it is her day all the way. Proud and sad, this sappy old Dad is caught up in the preparations. Mom and I are full of elation and a touch of trepidation. But, we’ve done a decent job raising two fine daughters. And I ought to savor these times and tears. I’ll be doing this again in a few more years.

© Copyright Walter J. Wojtanik – 2013

For MIZ QUICKLY’S IMPROMPTU POETRY Day 20 – Prose Poem