DARKLY THROUGH THE REALM OF REASON

Right or wrong, logic plays upon your heart
taking the path of least insistence.
It is a shadow that calls, beckoning
to your reckoning that the time to act is now.
But, how can you proceed when what it takes
to succeed is shrouded in darkness. Your mind
has resigned itself to muddle through,
and you are unprepared. You remain scared;
scarred for life by the strife that haunts you.
The play upon your heart is akin to treason,
darkly through the realm of reason.
© Copyright Walter J. Wojtanik – 2013

 

A prompt from POETIC ASIDES – Day 2 – Two For Tuesday (Bright/Dark Poems)

FOR THE MOST PART, I CANNOT TELL A LIE (AT LEAST NOT TO YOUR FACE)

They’re only lies if you don’t believe me,
and if you leave me, they are
whatever I want them to be. I find you
interesting and beautiful (in a nondescript
kind of way) but that’s not to say
I don’t love you! (I don’t, but that’s not to say!)
We could see eye-to-eye, if you didn’t always
fall short (sort of an eye-to throat arrangement).
That would explain our estrangement
(and my derangement for telling you
what you want to hear.) Hard as I try
for the most part, I cannot tell a lie!
(At least not to your face!).
And this time I mean it!

© Copyright Walter J. Wojtanik – 2013

 

Written for NaPoWriMo 2013 – Two For the Show (Lies – Day 2)

THROW ME A LINE

“True ease in writing comes from art, not chance”

  ~An Essay on Criticism (Sound and Sense) Alexander Pope

The heart expresses all its eyes can see;
a voice that’s clear and speaks to all who hear.
So, do not close your mind to what can be,
a heart so blind will make love disappear.
But pens that stroke in broad and heartfelt hues,
will yield a master work in words you choose.

© Copyright Walter J. Wojtanik – 2013

MIZ QUICKLY DAY 2 – Iambic lines