I AM LEGEND

I am an enigma; a legend,
insistent that the season becomes
the most important thing.
It is for the children that I work,
and it seemed that they came
to appreciate this generosity,
which was rather rare.
Up in my spacious
hamlet I plan, amidst the hustle
and bustle (and time to rustle a sugar cookie
or two) with my diminutive minions
to charge through more rapid than eagles.
Rather happy, rarely sappy, I continue to hurl
myself  into this chore clenched fist and more
until I think I will burst.
And when I laugh my belly shakes,
a right jolly old spasm! Bridging the chasm
of disbelief, for a dedicated cause.
There is no mystery here. I am Santa Claus.

© Walter J Wojtanik

dVerse – Meeting The Bar: I am, The First Person Narrative

 

9 thoughts on “I AM LEGEND

  1. Beverly Crawford

    He just moved with me and stands proudly on my shelf, wearing golden robe made from recycled band uniform, a bejeweled miter, and a Santa beard, carrying a basket of pearls and gold. I christened him St. Midas Claus, and he’s been with me for a number of years. I think you must know him!

  2. Last September, I started on a path to write a poem a day for a “One Hundred Days to Christmas” on my “I Am Santa Claus” blog. We are ALL Santa Claus. Hopefully I will get them compiled and see if I can get them published. Thanks for the encouragement, all. I supposed this offering just kicked off the SECOND one hundred!

  3. Watch out for the cookies this year Santa, you know Covid and all, we don’t want you out during those critical two weeks of holiday, you are afterall and essential worker, maybe the little ones can leave little picture for you this year of you being healthy and safe and showing that they care. Much love. 🙂

Leave a comment