WHY-BUN?

I am a moody bastard. And my mood drives my every moment. It dictates my words. The poetry I choose to pen is as moody as I end up being. Let’s face it; I can be a hopeless romantic. Think two words. Hopeless. Romantic. I can park on a snarky moment and squeeze the life out of it. I love a good laugh, so any gaff in poetic parlance does a happy dance within me. I can be whatever I need to be. I am the why I write what I write. Drips of conceit, but not really. I have learned long ago that the right words will come at the right time. Any rhyme bears no resemblance to anyone but me. I try to emulate myself with every new waking day, seeing if I could surprise or shock myself.

The autumn of life
Paints with a vivid palette.
The growth of colors

© Walter J. Wojtanik

dVerse Poets Pub – Haibun Monday: Why Do I Write What I Write?

33 thoughts on “WHY-BUN?

  1. Love your Why-bun! Smiling I am. I find that the autumn of life grants a kind of freedom with it, at least I do believe it does. What is that famous poem and … and I will wear purple? 🙂

  2. ‘Why-bun’! Great title! What’s wrong with being a moody bastard, Walter, or a hopeless romantic? You constantly surprise and delight with your poetry. I love that sentence: ‘I am the why I write what I write’. Love the haiku too.

    1. Thank you, Kim. Whether a conscious effort or not, i like that I can bring all the “cards to the table” to surprise, delight (and sometimes perplex) the reader. For the most part, I rarely take myself too serious.

    1. My internal stimulus is no different than anything “out there” that inspires me. So if I’m a crab, it will show. If I’m feeling the love, that does too. If I feel quirky… you get it. But I’m not a cynic by any stretch. I believe in what I believe in. I have a gift and wield it how I see fit (or feel it). Thanks for adding your own spice to the mix, Kathy!

Leave a Reply

