LAND OF SEUSS

why-fit-in-dr-seuss

If I lived in another land, it would be something Seussian,
then I’d have an excuse again for being so strange.
I could rearrange words as if they were furniture,
and I would yearn for sure to hear the who
what Horton heard. It would be absurd I’m sure if
I could bring Thing 1 and Thing 2
into my crew and eschew (or bally-hoo)
any Lorax attacks that smacks of tom-foolery
and wear my drool like it was drool joolery!
That would be way too cool, you see!
(But that’s just me!) I’d enter every poetry slam
equipped with a pan of green eggs
and ham it up with my eyes quite shut
and a pocketful of wockets
(that sounds more Fuddian than Seussian!)
and I’ll be very amussian in my humor rume!
I would make a wish for just two fish,
one red and one blue (I’ve no need
for two blue! Do you?) I think
what I think and I know
what I know and I’m very familiar
with the places I’ll go.
I’m only old once (or maybe twice
if the weather’s not nice)
and have bunches of hunches
about sneetches with leeches
or foxes with sockes (hidden inside
of brightly wrapped boxes.)
So, say what you want and say what you say,
I’d be luckier by far to live right where I are!

© Walter J Wojtanik

 

One thought on “LAND OF SEUSS

  1. I cannot convey to you how much I LOVE THIS POEM!!! It has made my whole day, Walt.

    “I could rearrange words as if they were furniture,
    and I would yearn for sure to hear the who” … Excellent line breaks throughout, but I think this is my favorite section. Oh, and these, of course:

    “and I’ll be very amussian in my humor rume”

    “and have bunches of hunches
    about sneetches with leeches”

    A bit lower, I “see” sockses instead of sockes. I just can’t help it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

