THE TWELFTH OF NEVER

You ask me and I’ll tell you,
there may come a time when I’m
in no position to know
or show the affection that I sent
in your direction every day!
I could say I love you incessantly,
and presently, I do. But you
may come to a point where the point
will be moot, and you’d dispute
my verity or seek clarity of my
existence. There may be a resistance
on either of our parts where our hearts
will no longer feel, or can no longer
feel what we know is true.
So until you or I can no longer commit,
I will admit as I always do (as do you!)
I will love you until the twelfth of never!
(And yes, that’s a long, long time!)

(C) Walter J. Wojtanik

Poetic Asides – Prompt #392: Forever Poems

Leave a Reply

