RUNNING AWAY

Adam hid in the Garden of Eden.
Jonah jumped a boat and was swallowed
by a whale. Man likes to run
from God. As soon as I could walk,
I started running. The Big Boss;
the Head Rabbi – if I saw Him coming
down the hallway, I ducked down
a corridor. He was tall and I felt tiny
in His presence. I ran until He couldn’t
see me anymore. We had once been closer,
but I hadn’t really been around Him
in twenty-five years. Man likes to run from God.
But I was headed in the other direction.

(C) Walter J. Wojtanik

A “found” poem with lines taken
from Mitch Albom’s “have a little faith”.

Leave a Reply

