BREATHE: THE LAST GOODBYE

“Breathe” she’d say.
“Don’t forget to breathe.
It’s the surest way to know you’re alive!”

Breathe!

Not so famous last words,
but I heard them clearly though
she was nearly gone. “Breathe.”

Just breathe!

We were connected on a cosmic level,
come the devil or high water, the order was clear.
A force of nature, a spirited touch. Breathe.

Now, reach out!

I have visions still, though she is nil,
I see beyond what is gone. The fight goes on.
The sights, the sounds; this vision…

What do you see?

Her beacon continues to shine in this heart
as it had from the start. Bright, searing
nearing solar heat. I am complete in her…

Light!

And yet, she has gone. Extinguished,
like an exhausted flame. I call her name but
silence fills me… fills this void with…

The Darkness!

But I remember how we met in between,
we saw the good that came out of all this.
I would be remiss if this were to fade.
We had it made. The Light. The Darkness.

The Balance!

Don’t forget to breathe!

(C) Walter J. Wojtanik

**After hearing the teaser for “Star Wars Episode VIII: The Last Jedi”, it sparked a memory. The italicized words are from the film clip. It brought my recollection to the fore!

 

Offered at dVerse Poets Pub – OLN #194

15 thoughts on “BREATHE: THE LAST GOODBYE

  1. Oh my. I didn’t read this with Star Wars in mind and have no idea the connection (I’m no doubt the only person on the globe who knows little to nothing about Star Wars) but this so touched me having been with so very many people as they passed from this life.

  2. sanaarizvi

    My goodness this is good!❤️ Especially love; “Her beacon continues to shine in this heart
    as it had from the start. Bright, searing nearing solar heat. I am complete in her…”❤️

  3. hypercryptical

    Breath fills the void twixt birth and death. Breathe in we must, inhale the world til the time of parting.
    Anna :o]

  4. This breaks my heart because I presume it is about your wife. I don’t know her current status, but I know she wasn’t doing well at all, last we spoke. I’m so sorry for how you and she both have suffered.

Leave a Reply

