PANIC ATTACK

There’s tightness in my chest,
and at best I’m feeling quirky.
My hands are shaking,
and my nerves are making me
come quite undone. It’s no fun
to be exasperated, devastated and
percolated, discombobulated.
I appear to be fated to a life of angst,
against all odds, I should abort,
my knees are weak, my breath is short,
my sorry heart is palpitating,
frantically defibrillating.
I start to mutter,
and so I stutter,
There is no other way to see it,
this panic attack has me defeated!

(C) Walter J. Wojtanik

Poetic Asides 2017 April PAD – Day 8: Panic

PANIC AT THE DISCO

We haven’t been dancing in twenty some years,
and my two left feet have brought along friends.
It seems that I’m stepping on everyone’s toes,
and the thumping noise just never ends!

I remember the dance halls of days gone by
and decorum was the order of the day.
You had all the ballroom you needed to swing,
you had all the space there to sway!

But these 70’s throwbacks are really a pain,
these platform shoes hurt my feet,
The strobe lights are blinding and I am finding
I can’t make my way back to my seat.

My claustrophobia is starting to stir,
these dancing sardines are too close.
I’m starting to panic, I’m all out of Xanax,
I’d trade all these chains for a dose!

(C) Walter J. Wojtanik

Poetic Asides 2017 April PAD – Day 8: Panic