AS LONG AS…

My Music:
Give me a song with a beat,
make my feet move
to a groove I can dance to;
take a chance to find
romance too, if I’ve a mind to.
Melody matters; lyrics flatter,
I can’t carry a tune for shit,
but if it’s a hit I can fake it
as long as you can take it.
Give me a song with a beat.

My Teams,
are nightmares, dressed as dreams,
conforming to sports passion
with the team’s current fashion.
Anything for a buck,
and it’s just my luck –
we’re always in contention
for dishonorable mention.
I swallow my pride,
don my paper bag and hide.
Give out a cheer, “As long as there’s next year!”

My Meter Is Running.
This muse of mine
works just fine.
But I laugh and I scoff
because I can’t turn it off.
I can fill any form
and make my words swarm
but, a terse verse
keeps repeating on me.
It can only get worse,
as long as I’m hooked on poetry.

© Walter J. Wojtanik

Poetic Asides Prompt #388 – As _____ as _____

 

Leave a Reply

