AS LONG AS YOU REMAIN

As long as you remain in my heart,
you are never gone. You are
the one who has brightened my days
always and in all ways.

I can never miss you.
You are never gone. You are
what a smile is to a bad day
always and in all ways.

I hold you here where my heart resides
deep inside, you are never gone.
You are the one that had become
a habit I couldn’t break. It would take

as long to purge you from that place
as it would take to traverse space
and come back here safe and sound. I have found
the seed you had planted continues to blossom.

No gloom befalls me. You enthrall me
as you always have, all way and forever.
You are never gone, as long as I breathe.
I believe in the joy of you! It’s true.

© Walter J. Wojtanik – 2017

Poetic Asides Prompt #388 – As _____ as _____

AS HOT AS I CAN TAKE IT

Coffee.
Make it dark
and not too thick.
I want it to warm me,
not to stick to my ribs.
No cream.
No sweetener.
No mocha-choca-frappa-latte-
f-in’-chino, Know what I mean?
Oh, and make it hot.
Very hot! Do not
hold it between your knees please, hot!
I’ll take it as hot as I can get it.
Got it? Start my day the right way.
A steaming cup of joe, and make it to go!

© Walter J. Wojtanik

Poetic Asides Prompt #388 – As _____ as ______