BE – AN EPIPHANY

The lesson becomes this. You learn by living. And you hope you’re allowed to apply all of these lessons before your living ends. The nest is vacated as of late, not quite empty but that’s just semantics. The girls have ostensibly evacuated, leaving my wife and me to “fend for ourselves”. We do OK. I cook. She cleans. I repair and remodel. She washes and gardens. I nocturnally smash my head into furniture; she resumes a battle against her dreadful afflictions. But, we do OK. The battles used to be shared. We were mutual combatants in a strained union, dancing precariously on the precipice of a bottomless free-fall. Somehow, the feet always seemed to avoid that finality. You come to be a student of your own mistakes, taking what you can salvage and leaving the unnecessary flotsam for the plankton. The fate has been tickled and in the thick of it, remains our sanity. So we chose to dance; to cling to a life for the prescribed better or worse and try to nurse this wounded beast back to health (or some semblance thereof!) We had gotten into the habit of letting life slip by. But, our new discoveries dictate that if you do that long enough, you die without living (learning the lessons). That needed to be remedied. After all, I repair and remodel, so fixing covers it.

The truth lies in this lesson: love, deserved respect, and forgiveness all seem to be equally important. These make a life well lived. I had lost sight of the importance of the life I had been given. I tried to strive for “poetic perfection”, bucking the system; thinking myself above the “flock”. I went on this journey to find a “higher plane”, without realizing “I had already arrived”. The time wasted trying to honor and glorify my abilities, skewed my sense of priority; it almost destroyed me. I became what I had always been, a small grain of sand on a vast lake shore, a speck in the early evening sky.

My wife and I had come to find something we had lost or forgotten a while back: love, respect and forgiveness. And in the tenderness and embrace of this moment, I fell in love with my wife all over again! And the lesson becomes this. You learn by living. And you hope you’re allowed to apply all of these lessons before your living ends. Whatever happens in this life, that moment belongs to us.

© Walter J. Wojtanik

Offered at dVerse Poets Pub – MTB: Prose Poetry

33 thoughts on “BE – AN EPIPHANY

  1. What a lesson to be learned here….of perseverance and stumbling, wrong turns and enlightenment….and finally reaching the other side renewed and reinforced. This would be a good read for any bride and groom, and a re-read on their 25th anniversary! Well written. Bravo

  2. We are in a similar empty nest situation. It’s good advice: “love, respect and forgiveness”. It is also a good idea as you mention not to get into habits that let life slip by. I try paying attention to her slightly differently every day to nudge both of us out of our habits of taking things for granted. Paying attention seems the best way to not let life slip by.

  3. This is so rich in wisdom and poetic beauty I wish I could have it ingrained on my heart. I particularly liked how you started the piece and then came back to, “The lesson becomes this. You learn by living. And you hope you’re allowed to apply all of these lessons before your living ends.” Like searching for that higher plane only realize it’s where you’ve been all along. Excellent and thank you.

  4. This is so incredibly powerful, Walt. Somehow, I hadn’t thought of applying poetic prose to non-fiction, let alone a philosophical essay. I felt the pull and push of the seasons of life in this. Those of us who have lived long enough will “get it.”

  5. Well you have taken like a duck to water with this prose poem – “You come to be a student of your own mistakes, taking what you can salvage and leaving the unnecessary flotsam for the plankton. ”
    Glad to hear you are still learning Walt and have found a way back to your union

  6. My wife and I had come to find something
    we had lost or forgotten a while back: love,
    respect and forgiveness

    One just can’t imagine the goodness of discovering lots of everything again. Given the luxury of our own time things which may have been given a miss before now are blessings again! Great word-craft Walt!

    Hank

    1. We threw the maps away a long time ago. And we’ve flown by the seat of our pants, Grace. Now, we take slower more calculated steps and still arrive where we need to be. It seems to work. Thanks for this.

  7. Walter, I can relate to this so very much!! What a lovely and vulnerable sharing of yourself, and a beautiful inspiration and reminder. Love needs tending and nurturing, and seeing what’s right in front of our faces. I’m so very happy for you! 💜

    1. Thanks Angela! I of you read thro FB my blog, you’ll fin.a lot of “confessional” poetry. I feel you reach inwardly and touch your pain or emotion and then write how it feels. That’s where my poetry lives!

      1. I feel the same way, and mine comes from a similar place. I don’t know how I have t followed you yet, but I certainly will. 💜

  8. hypercryptical

    This is beautiful prose poetry Walt, a beautiful epiphany.
    My children flew the nest many moons ago, but fly back often bringing their own little chicks to light up my life (even more).
    It is true that once they fly we re-find our space, fill it again with our love, season it with respect and forgiveness.
    Thank you for your wonderful insightful words.
    Kind regards
    Anna :o]

  9. Rosemary Nissen-Wade

    Oh, that’s beautiful! And so wise, with the wisdom learned by living. Congratulations on the learning and the living … and the loving … and on the writing, which has its own importance, in ways like this – not separate from life but expressing it.

Leave a Reply

