WHEREFORE ART THOU TITAN OF THE SEA?

titanicnight

“A strange device for sure!” I thought to myself. What did Wellington call it? A GPS? Unfathomable rot, I think! Here, in Ismay’s behemoth, his “Titanic”… we are traveling at a good clip. The North Atlantic is vast in its openness. It is a rather bit of a nipper, I must admit.

I’ve retired to my cabin for the night. It was a right jolly day, and tomorrow should offer nothing newsworthy, in my estimation. I, Captain Edward John Smith, have grown tired of the sea after all these years. A permanent retirement after this voyage is a grand plan.

But what of this GPS gizmo? Ismay called a global position something-or-other. A navigational chart without maps, sextons or compasses! It could even spot bloody icebergs from a safe distance. “Who needs to be star guided with this marvel of wonder in this yet undiscovered ‘electronic’ age?” Bruce brags. (Ismay calls himself a visionary; I say whack-job!) Well, I’ll play with his new toy on the morrow! Half a cup of tea, and it is lights out for me!

In the need for speed
one loses their perspective,
objective unclear!

© Walter J. Wojtanik – 2017

QKJ #22 – A Common Item

4 thoughts on “WHEREFORE ART THOU TITAN OF THE SEA?

Leave a Reply

