WAITING TO GAIN IN EXPERIENCE

“Life is about not knowing, having to change, taking the moment and making the best of it, without knowing what’s going to happen next. Delicious ambiguity.” ~Gilda Radner

All we learn, we learn by doing. We try and fail and try again. each attempt at failing falling a little better than before. The more we try and fail, the better we become at succeeding. Or failing. We start out as a blank page. Pure and pristine. And we mean to do our best, but until we learn the hard way, we will stay blank.

Thank God I would learn to fill each line with something. Anything! Each clean leaf a failure waiting to happen. But it also holds potential! And as I continue to grow as a man and a poet, I gain more and score points of experience, for it is in experience that I flourish. It nourishes this resolve and feeds my desire and persuades my waiting to achieve whatever I believe I can!

Always do something
even if for the first time.
gain experience

© Walter J. Wojtanik – 2017

dVerse Poets Pub – Haibun Monday #29

13 thoughts on “WAITING TO GAIN IN EXPERIENCE

  1. I especially like these sentences:

    “The more we try and fail, the better we become at succeeding. Or failing.”

    “we mean to do our best, but until we learn the hard way, we will stay blank”

  2. Life’s about experience and gaining it and being aware we are learning from it…I liked the philosophical approach you took to your haibun Walter, well done and thanks for contributing.

  3. Nice idea behind: “until we learn the hard way, we will stay blank”. I also liked the phrase “a failure waiting to happen”. I suppose however hard the hard way was it could have been harder.

  4. ah….and who is wearing rose colored glasses today? 🙂 I LOVE this. I also really really liked Gildna Radner. She was a remarkable talent who left us too soon. Her memory lives on in the foundation and organization named after her that assists women with cancer.
    Yes — we are always becoming and taking up that pen each day adds new words to our journal and to our life. Really liked this post and its resolve!
    Thankful for every day.

  5. I’ve come to the same conclusions, but I reckon it takes a lifetime of living before a person can relax enough about their own failings, and see that there’s light in brightness.

  6. I was struck by Gilda’s words, “Delicious ambiguity.” That’s what ‘living’ is about. Choosing to add ‘delicious’ to how we perceive the flow of time and relishing experience when it presents itself. As someone said, it’s important to just show up and you never know what could happen; not live in a blank page. Thought-provoking post, Walter. 🙂

Leave a Reply

