A GOOD DAY

"...A Bad Day Fishing!"
“…A Bad Day Fishing!”

Upon the lake we drop our lines,
and in our boat we are afloat.
A bad day fishing is just fine,
I find I have no need to gloat.

In our boat we are afloat.
The summer sun creeps up the shore.
I find I have no need to gloat.
This lake is full of fish galore.

The summer sun creeps up the shore,
the silence is a welcome sign.
This lake is full of fish galore.
I hope a few of them are mine!

The silence is a welcome sign.
I find my peace while I am fishing.
I hope a few of them are mine,
at least that is what I am wishing!

I find my peace while I am fishing,
a creel of fish and we can eat,
at least that is what I am wishing,
but if it’s empty, I’ll cut bait!

A creel of fish and we can eat,
a bad day fishing is just fine
but if it’s empty, I’ll just wait!
Upon the lake we drop our lines.

© Walter J. Wojtanik – 2017

QKJ #21 – A SUMMER DAY

10 thoughts on “A GOOD DAY

  1. You jolted me awake with the first line, which made me picture, not fishing, but dropping your lines of poetry into the lake. This is such a beautiful image, rowing out alone, writing, letting it go. I wonder if there are any creatures down there who can read. I sure hope so.

Leave a Reply

