IF I ONLY THOUGHT LOVE WAS ENOUGH

If I only thought love was the answer,
If I only thought words were enough,
If I only thought “I’m Sorry” would ease all your pain
I’d say it again, and again, and again.

If I only thought hearts wouldn’t crumble,
If I only thought those tears were the balm.
If I only thought my heart could absorb all your pain
I’d do it again, and again, and again.

If I only thought a mind could find solace,
If I only thought a soul could find peace.
If I only thought a reason could truly explain
I’d tell you again, and again, and again.

If I only thought you knew how I love you,
If I only thought love was enough.
If only I’d tell you again and again,
these moments wouldn’t be so tough.

© Walter J. Wojtanik – 2017

dVerse Poets Pub – MTB: Critique and Craft

 

14 thoughts on “IF I ONLY THOUGHT LOVE WAS ENOUGH

  1. Glenn Buttkus

    Your refrains & repetitions work like crazy. It leaves me a bit dazed, not quite sure of which emotional tone is vibrated, but stentorian in word & message. I like your site header. I, too, do open mic readings.

  2. Such a great use of those line-beginning repeats and the final line of each stanza with the ending change-up. This just is so full of poignancy and those “if-only’s” that seem to be a part of living and losing. Touched me.

Leave a Reply

