BY LAST CHANCE

A quick glimpse was all it was.
A hesitation in my focus that caught me.
All I could see was what I spotted, by last chance.

A fated glance as it became
a prelude to finding out your name,
putting it all on the line in my mind. By last chance,

did you see me as well? Do tell
if familiarity breeds consent? I think what I meant
was, do you believe in things coming together by last chance?

In the great expanse of a universal truth,
what struck me in youth was a step toward eternity,
this serendipitous happenstance, a twist of fate by last chance.

You signed your signature with your smile
and it was while your teeth gleamed that it seemed
we were a destiny waiting to transpire; an inner fire. By last chance.

An extended hand, a stand closer than a wish, and a kiss;
a bold expression of a new found emotion. A building
devotion to a love long languishing enhanced by this last chance

and the feeling you get. And yet, you know when you know,
that love will grow despite the obstacles, this optical illusion,
this passionate confusion has taken root. All in a last chance.

 

©  Walter J. Wojtanik – 2016

Poetic Asides November Chapbook Challenge – Day 30: Last Chance

2 thoughts on “BY LAST CHANCE

Leave a Reply

