RICHER, POORER, SICKNESS, HEALTH

When I said I do, I did.
And I still do, I still say I do.
Just know it is true that
were it not for you
life’s adventures would be folly
and I, a less than jolly gent.

We’ve never been rich, have we?
Not in the asset sense, anyway.
But everyday you’re with me
gets me right here. You start
in the coffers of my heart,
where you’ve always belonged.

And I’d be wrong if I said
we were poor. I have you,
a most treasured value.
When I am sad, I can bank
on your smile to guide me right.
You are so much more, with interest!

Now, through your sickness
with your quickness fading
and jading what we’ve shared
all these years, amid the sorrows
and tear, the promise of tomorrow
always leads us back to right here.

I love you. I place no one above you
in my life. It comes back to the promise.
For richer, for poorer. In sickness
and in health… the wealth of us is in
every waking day we are together,
Our daily forever lasts for our lives.

© Walter J. Wojtanik – 2016

Poetic Asides November Chapbook Challenge – Day 29: LOVE/ANTI-LOVE

Leave a Reply

