AT A LOSS FOR WORDS

A poet,
a man well versed in verse,
with a way to express
in worded wonder to excess,
seems under the gun
when one so loved asks
in sad desperation
of her exasperation.
She starts to cry,
bitter tears streaming
and asks in uncertainty
the question that puzzles me.
“Am I dying?” Now I am the one
crying and lying through my teeth.
“NO!” I say emphatically,
a bit dramatically for my taste.
And in my haste I realize,
I’m not even sure. But, it is me and her
facing the absurd; the most loving soul
and her bard at a loss for words.

© Walter J. Wojtanik – 2016

Poetic Asides November Chapbook Challenge Day 20 – Popular Saying

2 thoughts on “AT A LOSS FOR WORDS

Leave a Reply

