ROOM FOR ONE

She sleeps.
The television flickers,
blankets drawn and her breathing
seems erratic. The static white noise
toys with my sensibilities. My ability
to cope has me on this slippery slope.
I am in pain from her pain. This sorrow
will still be there tomorrow and the day after.
Eyes raised to the rafters pleading for a sign
or a reminder how love conquers all. I call her
name softly, searching for a glimmer of awareness.
She stares for recognition, and smiles when it comes.
It starts and stops and starts again. There is no end
I kiss her gently and mentally record her face to save
any trace of joy that might linger. She kisses her finger
and places it on my lips and slips back to sleep.
And I go off into the night, turning off the lights.
I come undone in my room for one.

(C) Walter J. Wojtanik – 2016

Poetic Asides November Chapbook Challenge – Day 19: Commom Place

One thought on “ROOM FOR ONE

Leave a Reply

