(ALL WORK, AND NO) PLAYBOY

Workaholics Anonymous has turned me away.
“You’re beyond all hope” is all they would say.
It’s the way I was raised; there is no other way,
so I’ve resigned myself to keep on working.

So, time and again, and time and a half too,
fingers to the bones is the way that I do,
and I never punch out ‘til the work is all through
though my trigger finger keeps on jerking.

There’s money in the bank and still I’ve got bills,
the alarm clocks’ trill is the least of my thrills,
and the company’s turning me into their shill
as the “Big Boss Man” keeps on smirking.

But my social life is declared D.O.A.
“You’re beyond all hope” is all they would say,
There’s just not enough “jack” to make me go astray,
so I’ve resigned myself to keep on working.

© Walter J. Wojtanik – 2016

Poetic Asides November Chapbook Challenge – Day 16: PLAY_______

Leave a Reply

