DAILY AFFIRMATION

I watch her try to sleep.
A restless endeavor
and any clever device I can imagine
to help her slumber fall flat.
So, she tosses and turns
and I yearn to heal what I feel
is slipping from our grasp.
But, I do what I can.
Give her what she needs.
Dinners for two in less
romantic settings and changing
her bedding when needed. Meds at 8
and 4 and bedtime and I’ll
never tell her I’m tired as hell.
And I go to work every day,
dreading my ringtone. Going
through the motions in this
ocean of fear. And here is where
I’ll stay everyday. Just my way
of saying we’ll see this through.
Just know I love you!

© Walter J. Wojtanik – 2016

Poetic Asides November Chapbook Challenge – Day 13: Regularly

Leave a Reply

