ODE TO A LIGHT BULB

Stand up and bow my incandescent friend,
your job is important and it never ends.
When you carry a load you provide illumination,
saving us all from a darkness infestation.
You did well in school, your reasons were right,
you needn’t have studied, you were always so bright.
You light up my kitchen and my Christmas tree,
my landscape and cellar, I’m glad I can see.
My toes and shins thank you, I have no more bruises
you stay on the job (long as there are fuses.)

I need you around for all that is viewed,
but, for you to work you have to get screwed!

© Walter J. Wojtanik – 2016

Poetic Asides November Chapbook Challenge – Day 11: Description

Leave a Reply

