DON’T YOU REMEMBER…

I remember that it snowed that day. Don’t you remember?
I remember it was on a Monday night in December.
I remember I picked you up at a half past three,
     and you were waiting by that old maple tree.
I remember the wind was blowing rather strong,
     and I had you waiting out there far too long.
I remember you thought you should have stayed in bed,
     but came out with that horrible cold instead.
I remember we had some dinner, we saw a show,
     and we made some angels in the snow.
I remember I drove you straight home to get some rest
     and offered to rub some Vicks® on your chest.
I remember we finally got there a bit after nine,
     and I remember you said you had a really good time.
I remember we chatted briefly watching the snow
     and we listened to music on the radio.
I remember the announcer broke in with some bad news,
     and that shroud of sadness covered you.
I remember. Don’t you remember how you cried
     that night we heard that John Lennon had died?

JohnLennon

© Walter J. Wojtanik – 2016

Poetic Asides November Chapbook Challenge – Day 10: TRAGIC

Leave a Reply

