CALM ME

Things have been frantic,
and I’m sick of this feeling
that has me reeling and stealing
precious moments of  joy.

I’m frustrated and have hated
being so tightly wound.
I’ve found that life can be cruel
and as a rule, rather vengeful.

I’m resentful (and know it will do me no good)
even if it could, it wouldn’t feel right.
I might disappear and steer my ship
into any safe harbor to which I can tether.

Whether things will correct themselves or not,
I’ve got to see things through. It is true
that moments in life define us and find us
searching for our purpose. It could be worse

but before I contemplate our fate,
I need to put on a strong front. I want
to be able to regain control; become sedate.
Before it’s too late, calm me!

© Walter J. Wojtanik – 2016

Poetic Asides November Chapbook Challenge – Day 9: Call Me _____

Leave a Reply

