CALL ME (SHE SAID, I SAID)

“Can you call me?”, she said.
“Hey, what’s up?”, I said.
“This pain in my head.”, she said.
“Bad again?”, I said.
“I wish I were dead.”, she said.
“A bit dramatic?”, I said.

I was an asshole, she said.
And I’d dread ever letting
My frustration step on hers.
“I feel helpless; hopeless”, I said.
“I know, I know”, she said.
“Did you take your meds?” I said.

“Yes. I’m still in bed.” she said.
“Well good, try to sleep” I said.
“If I can keep my eyes closed”, she said.
“Want me to come home?”, I said.
“No, you need to work”, she said.
And again I dread the thoughts in my head.

I said I was sorry she felt so bad.
I said she’s the best thing I ever had,
I apologized for being a cad.
I said I hope you’re not mad.
She said she felt a little sad.
I said, “Don’t worry. Call me!”

© Walter J. Wojtanik – 2016

Poetic Asides November Chapbook Challenge Day 9 – Call Me ______

Leave a Reply

