ALPHONSE AND GASTON

After you…

We as brothers in life seek to climb
the Eiffel Tower. One step at a time
my small French feet make their mark and…

Eh Hem!
Pardon Moi. After you…

As Alphonse has said, he is only ahead
because a gentleman allows the courtesy.
And it is agreed. He has tiny feet! And…

Eh Hem!
Pardon Moi. After you…

Gaston is a jealous sort, but that is my cohort
as we climb. I’m more than pleased if Alphonse
eased past me to take the lead. (It feed his greed…)

Eh Hem!
Pardon Moi. After you…

Please, please! Au contraire, Alphonse! In this,
I have no need for greed. My ego is all that drives me.
It derives me no great pleasure (Except where you, Alphonse, is concerned…)

Eh Hem!
Pardon Moi. After you…

A few step more and we can sure see all of Pa-ree!
Excuse moi! After you Gaston! No, after you Alphonse!
But I insist Gaston. I wouldn’t think of it Alphonse…

After you…!

© Walter J. Wojtanik –2016

Poetic Asides Prompt #371: Ekphrastic Poem

spiral_staircase_on_eiffel_tower-225x300

One thought on “ALPHONSE AND GASTON

Leave a Reply

