MARBLE, GRANITE AND STONE

I.
A stone
marks your presence,
yet the essence of you
lives within me.

II.
Memories and heart felt emotions
fill the corners of my rapturous soul.
Amidst these rows and rows of monuments,
of marble and granite.

III.
You are both remembered
long since you departed with pieces of my heart,
buried with you, as much as pieces of your lives
live within me.

IV.
I come to celebrate you,
feting each life as a part of me,
a solid foundation
upon which I was built.
The only guilt I bear
is not being there to tell you,
“I love you” often enough.

V.
Of granite and stone your time has been marked,
a stark reality to the soft and caring souls you were
in this life of love and wonder. Under this marker you lie;
deep within my heart you remain, an eternal blessing.

VI.
Rest comes shrouded in stone,
shadows of death left to languish,
grounded in seclusion; isolation.
Marked in granite,
planet Earth receives all that remains.
Spoils for the soil.

© Walter J. Wojtanik – 2016

dVerse Poets Pub – MTB: As a Cubist Poet

19 thoughts on “MARBLE, GRANITE AND STONE

  1. Oh this is so very poignant ❤️ I especially adore “Of granite and stone your time has been marked, a stark reality to the soft and caring souls you were in this life of love and wonder. Under this marker you lie; deep within my heart you remain, an eternal blessing.” Beautifully rendered. ❤️

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

  2. I like the circular movement of this but not as in progression. You start with a stone marking presence and end with rest shrouded in stone. Everything in between can be swapped about but these two stanzas have their places – as does the stone.

Leave a Reply

