WIDE-EYED WISDOM

Great Horned Owl www.audubon.org
Great Horned Owl
http://www.audubon.org

Who? Who knows? Who knows who?
Wide-eyed wisdom perched
in the late-summer’s night.
Calling to see who would respond,
who would find answers to the questions.
Who? If you knew would you care,
would you dare question the what,
the why, the where? Who are you to challenge
the wisdom which took years to amass.
No tome bound in leather could contain
what weathered wisdom resides in feathers.
No matter how wise the owl, it can run a-fowl
of what we’ve learned; what we’ve earned.
Who? Who knows? Who knows who?

(C) Walter J Wojtanik – 2016

For dVerse Poets Pub – Come Fly With Me: Poetics

30 thoughts on “WIDE-EYED WISDOM

  1. Haha First of all you scared the shit out of me with the huge owl pic so I sat straight up in my chair to read, not to be seen slouching 🙂 Then you end the whole damn thing with “Who knows who?” …aaah now I don’t know shit about anyone… I think you’re right 🙂
    That’s the reading I went through. Thanks for the ride

  2. Owls are such fascinating creatures and you, with so many poetic devices like alliteration and repetition, captured a certain sense of mystery that seems to be a part of the persona what we humans ascribe to them. Mary Oliver writes of them quite often.

  3. I love owls! Actually, your beginning line made me think immediately of the song “Who Are You” by The Who! I love that song too! Great poem, Walt and particularly loved these lines: “No tome bound in leather could contain/what weathered wisdom resides in feathers.”

  4. I love this take on the prompt 😀 and agree with Victoria, owls are such wise and majestic creatures. Lovely work on the internal rhymes. Beautifully rendered.

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

  5. Cyress

    You made me think of my favorite children’s book, A Wrinkle in Time, with all those question words. Remember Mrs. What, et cetera?

Leave a Reply

