CLASSICS IN LUNE

Before I sleep,
I have miles to go.
stopping by woods.

Ponder weak; weary,
nevermore,
so quoth the raven.

How do I love thee
let me count
depth, breadth, height, purely.

The sidewalk ends.
The grass grows soft; white.
The children know.

i carry your heart
in my heart.
never without it.

In a yellow wood,
I will take
the road less traveled.

Tree and moss you are;
violets.
Folly to the world.

Life is fine.
You may hear me holler.
Fine as wine.

Lonely as a cloud,
I wander;
Dance with daffodils.

Love costs all we are
only love.
That which sets us free.

Into that good night
the light dies.
Rage, rage against it.

Your tempest of love,
deaf and blind
my senses leave me.

All the world’s a stage,
we all play,
some play many parts.

Captain, my captain.
Trip is done.
Fallen cold and dead.

My luve’s a red rose,
sprung in June.
Fare the weel awhile.

The chestnut tree spreads.
Smithy stands;
owes not any man.

I dreamed of chickens.
On waking,
there were eggs on me.

A swig in hell from
Gunga Din,
better man than I.

Jug of wine,
a loaf of bread, Thou.
Wilderness is Paradise.

© Walter J. Wojtanik

28 thoughts on “CLASSICS IN LUNE

    1. Victoria,

      From Poetic Asides (Writer’s Digest) with Robert Lee Brewer:

      The lune is also known as the American Haiku. It was first created by the poet Robert Kelly (truly a great poet) and was a result of Kelly’s frustration with English haiku. After much experimentation, he settled on a 13-syllable, self-contained poem that has 5 syllables in the first line, 3 syllables in the second line and 5 syllable in the final line.

      Unlike haiku, there are no other rules. No need for a cutting word. Rhymes are fine; subject matter is open. While there are less syllables to use, this form has a little more freedom.

      Here’s Robert’s attempt at one:

      trees never wander
      but still spread
      across open fields

      That is the Kelly Lune.

      *****

      There is a variant lune created by poet Jack Collom. His form is also a self-contained tercet, but his poem is word-based (not syllable-based) and has the structure of 3 words in the first line, 5 words in the second line and 3 words in the final line.

      As with Kelly’s lune, there are no other rules.

      Here’s Robert’s attempt at a Collom lune:

      An envelope labeled
      loose change holds coins meant
      for loose teeth.

  1. Very interesting form, something I had not come across before. Whenever I see the yellow wood I am catapulted back to choir singing ‘two roads diverged…’

  2. Here’s the list for the curious:

    1. Stopping By Wood On a Snowy Evening ~ Robert Frost
    2. The Raven ~ Edgar Allen Poe
    3. Sonnets From the Portuguese 43 ~ Elizabeth Barrett Browning
    4. Where the Sidewalk Ends ~ Shel Silverstein
    5. i carry your heart ~ e.e. cummings
    6. The Road Not Taken ~ Robert Frost
    7. A Girl ~ Ezra Pound
    8. Life is Fine ~ Langston Hughes
    9. I Wandered Lonely As a Cloud ~ William Wordsworth
    10. Touched By An Angel ~ Maya Angelou
    11. Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night ~ Dylan Thomas
    12. I Am Not Yours ~ Sara Teasdale
    13. All the World’s A Stage ~ William Shakespeare
    14. O Captain, My Captain ~ Walt Whitman
    15. A Red, Red Rose ~ Robert Burns
    16. The Village Blacksmith ~ Henry Wadsworth Longfellow
    17. Last Night I Dreamed Of Chickens ~ Jack Prelutsky
    18. Gunga Din ~ Rudyard Kipling
    19. Rubaiyat of Omar Khayam ~ Edward FitzGerald

    1. We are all forever learning in this world Mish! We’re all here to teach each other something. If that was my contribution, I’m happy you took something away from this. Believe me, I’m still learning as well! Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

