LORD GODIVA LETS OFF STEAM

Godiva

She’s off again!
That brazen hussy on horseback.
The fact is that the crowds in Coventry
congregate in wait for a glimpse
or a gleaming of her steaming lack
of attire. I am thankful for her hair
for there within, her wherewithal
is all concealed. Nothing is revealed
until the wind blows. And so it goes.
Exhibitionist or harlot, a scarlet letter
would have nowhere to hide.
The missus has no pride or shame,
this Lady just sullies my good name!
There she goes, she’s off again!

© Walter J. Wojtanik – 2016

dVerse Poets Pub – Tuesday Poetics: Poetical Spouses

22 thoughts on “LORD GODIVA LETS OFF STEAM

  1. Superb, ‘brazen hussy on horseback’ ! I love the phrase ‘a glimpse or a gleaming’, it evokes a picture of a leering, ogling crowd, lying in wait for the naked lady – and ‘a scarlet letter would have nowhere to hide’! Priceless! 😄

  2. Walter, I like these lines as well:
    I am thankful for her hair
    for there within, her wherewithal
    is all concealed. Nothing is revealed
    until the wind blows. And so it goes.

    Very cute poem and as always, brilliantly written. I’m going back to school Walter, so I will just participate here and there when I can. It has been so much fun to hang with you guys! I love WordPress 🙂

  3. A scarlet letter would have no where to hide! 🙂 And she’s off again — Oh I LOVE this one! Smiling, smiling and imagining the poor guy with his wife mounting that horse again! and again! and again! 🙂

Leave a Reply

