WHISPERS OF LOVE

Soft insinuations play
within this vacuous heart.
It starts as the spark
that memory allows to smolder.
A siren’s call within my head
displaces dread and heartache.
Here within these gates,
amongst the marble pillars;
stones and obelisks
to mark each valiant soul,
and I come to stand before her.
Sunset near breaking, taking its time
to shine upon this cold place.
Her face, behind closed eyes,
tender touches of hands so soft,
serenity’s surrogate reminding me
time and again. Calling
in telepathic tones, my name in her voice,
her name in my ear. Laments of love
return in silent whispers, Hand reaching,
beseeching the spirits to rest and allow
me the same. And still I hear my name.
Whispers of love never die!

(C) Walter J. Wojtanik – 2016

dVerse Tuesday Poetics – THE SOUNDS OF LOVE

44 thoughts on “WHISPERS OF LOVE

  1. SMiLes my Friend.. as
    Tesla once said.. there is
    no muse of romance for a scientist
    who is married to invention of tools..
    but for artists.. and poets same
    the Love muse
    is what drives
    creativity
    cooperation
    and even productivity
    same.. as mixing art
    and science is not easy
    haha! to keep the Love
    SonG intact but i try to
    makes sense of Love in
    Song of Fire and Ice.. where
    Love is fire and reason is ice..
    and the ‘tween of that last longer
    than the science and Love only of bEFoRE..:)

  2. Pingback: Summer Choir – A Reading Writer

  3. Pingback: Hushed Love – Doodles and Scribbles

  4. I love the way this progresses…”the spark that memory allows to smolder”….how many of us have experienced that..then our hesitation at the beginning, doubts and fear…love calls again.

    1. Thanks, Crystal. My challenge has become providing a prompt that pushes us all a little further each time. I am humbled by the fact that you have embraced each and every one. Thanks for that. It makes it worth the effort!

  5. “Tread softly because you tread on my dreams” comes to mind in this light and lyrical piece Walt – I like the way you’ve stretched the moments:
    “Sunset near breaking, taking its time
    to shine upon this cold place.”

  6. Pingback: Can You Hear It? – Mother Wintermoon

Leave a Reply

