ONE SUMMER NIGHT

“O, it’s die we must, but it’s live we can,
and the marvel of earth and sun
is all for the joy of woman and man
and the longing that makes them one.”

~ William Ernest Henley from “Between the Dusk of a Summer Night”

‘Tis to this we bough and stand,
wither the morning light comes
or nay, the breath of a new day whispers.
Betwixt the sun’s last ray and the ‘morrow,
we need not borrow futures not yet due,
and you and I will sigh in that breath,
nary a care nor worry, in no hurry
for this treasured moment lasts
but an eye blink and a kiss. One woman,
one man and a lifetime of such bliss
borne in abundant hearts. It starts
on one summer night when dreams
are held close and ne’er slept through.
Together here where the heather embraces
the moor, where we lay in sweet repose,
where it replaces the cacophony of two hearts
beating in time with the sound of one love!

© Walter J. Wojtanik – 2016

Today, I’m hosting at dVerse Poets Pub serving the Tuesday Poetics: Summer Starters. We kick off the season with summer poems inspired by words, a line or refrain of other poets summer fare, giving them their due! Can you inspire? Stoke the poetic fires? Join us and discover your muse!

44 thoughts on “ONE SUMMER NIGHT

  1. I’m getting a peek at your wonderful versatility in writing poetry, Walt. This reads like one of the masters of 19th century poetry.

    It starts
    on one summer night when dreams
    are held close and ne’er slept through.

    So evocative of summer love.

  2. Glenn Buttkus

    Terrific idea for a prompt, Walt. Your piece smacks, feels like classic stylistic word smithing, a real & unexpected treat. Thanks for hosting (smile, I had typed “hosing”) the pub today. I like your line /the breath of a new day whispers/.

  3. It starts on one summer night when dreams are held close and ne’er slept through. I love this line from this poem that reads as if it came from another age. Remarkable poem about summer and love.

      1. I understand compleetely! Much of my college lit work was in old and middle English. I read Sir Gawain in the original – basically learned a second language. I lvoe that you went in that direction with this poem!

  4. Ah, a classic setting… all the way from the earliest of poets to the lines in the early sixties that read,

    “Have a good time but remember
    There is danger in the summer moon above.
    Will I see you in September,
    Or lose you to a summer love?”

    …and possibly more recently. Awesomely wielded, Walt!

    Also, a great prompt. Thanks for bar tending!

      1. I always considered Robert Zimmerman to be a decent lyricist. Just thought he should hire a singer. 🙂 I really enjoyed Zevon, J.J. Cale, and Nilsson — and a few others. Just think what they could have written WITHOUT the drugs!

  5. A gorgeous summer poem, Walter. It reminds me of ‘Summer’ by John Clare, that I was going to take as my inspiration but decided not to. You have captured the classic style so well.

    1. Clare’s poem also nudged at me as well. But apparently, my choice seems to have rendered a poem people seem to like. I love it (a given), but that others do to tells me I’ve accomplished something. I appreciate your comment, Kim!

  6. I actually conceived this styling with Puck in mind. But I had gotten distracted and lost the train of thought. I caught the next train and this is what came of it. Happy with your response, Viv.

  7. Just catching up I am — on my second cup this morning. What a wonderful love poem you’ve written….with the heather on the moors…very romantic when love blooms fresh in the summer’s green! 🙂

Leave a Reply

