IN MY FATHER’S FOOTSTEPS

My father had a warped sense of fashion. Wild plaids, and Hawaiian patterns. Neither in bad taste, just too damn loud sometimes. And he loved to accessorize! Usually color coordinated, but some ill-fated outfits just didn’t cut the muster. And shoes! My father had a shoe fetish. Garish loafers in Black/white, or red/white, or blue/white, or whatever color and white that matched his costume. I put my foot down when he tried to offer fashion tips. I’d need quite a few nips of booze before I’d even consider wearing his shoes. Thankfully I have big feet. I followed him in many regards, but that one was not in the cards!

Walk in a man’s shoes
to know the plight of his flight,
sharing his journey

© Walter J. Wojtanik – 2016

Poetic Asides April Poem-A-Day Challenge – Day #23 : “Footwear”

 

One thought on “IN MY FATHER’S FOOTSTEPS

Leave a Reply

