MEANINGS LOST IN TRANSLATION

I cannot open my throat,
My words have ceased.
I have been left to decay
like some dying thing
singing a dirge of my
own making. There is
no mistaking my meaning,
every sigh is listed, double-
fisted battles to be heard.
He said words,
and I said nothing.
He said please,
but my pleas fell on deaf ears.
He said thank you.
I could not speak.
My words have ceased.
I cannot open my coffin!
Their condolences fail!

© Walter J. Wojtanik – 2016

from The Translator, by Sandra Beasley

Poetic Asides April Poem-A-Day Challenge – Day 21: “Respond or continue a Poem”

 

Leave a Reply

