THAT’S HOW IT IS (The Un-Coolio Version)

How are you doing, my friend?
Not bad really, how have you been, chum?
You know how it is, I’m just doing what comes natural.
(yes indeed)
What have you been working on lately?
Just working hard. What are you doing?
I’m taking some classes, brother.
I’m tryin’ to get out from this bad situation, man.
Good luck with that then.
I’m trying to find an employment situation
[Loud banging noises]
Oh gosh, it seems to be going downhill!
I’d like to find work as well, seriously man!
These things are not sitting well with me.
Fella, I’m not handling this well,
I’m not kidding in the least!
You know what my feelings are
with the automotive shooting sprees,
fellows taking my things and stuff,
drug addicts… I can’t tolerate it!
Things are tough all over, not just here
That’s true, but I can’t take much more of this!
I agree with you. But can I tell you a thing or two?
What is it, my friend?
As much as I hate this place, I love this place.
I know, right?
That’s how this ghetto is, man!
I totally agree!

(C) Walter J. Wojtanik – 2016

Poetic Asides April Poem-A-Day Challenge – Day #19: “Cool/uncool poem”

*This is an English translation of Coolio’s song “That’s How It Is” – the Un-Coolio lyrics

Leave a Reply

