WHAT A FOOL BELIEVES

From dark past to bright future,
one sutures their heart together
after love has left them for dead.

It is said that only fools fall,
and all this time I thought I knew,
but what I was going through

was a painful blood-letting,
betting that if love didn’t conquer
all, it would give it a good fight.

I believed that right up until
I was left alone. I had gone to hell
and back so many times, I knew

the route by heart. And I would
always start back up again. You see a fool
believes. But love relieves you

of all your senses including common.
So if you perchance at romance,
proceed at your own risk and never ask
what a fool believes!

© Walter J. Wojtanik – 2016

Poetic Asides April Poem-A-Day Challenge: Day 1 – “Foolish”

Leave a Reply

