GOING UNDER

B7: HIT
Shots over the bow,
I knew this would happen.
I prepare to counter.

G3: MISS
I have no luck in guessing,
and it’s messing with my psyche.
I already appear to have lost

B8: HIT
my submarine and my carrier.
It would be scarier if it was for keeps.
I’d end up in the briny deep

F9: MISS
if this course stays true.
It’s up to me to figure out
where my points have clout.

B9: HIT
I’m running out of moves.
my groove just isn’t keeping me
on track. Every attack falls flat!

H2: HIT
I throw my arms skyward.
Finally a hit! This is it, my comeback.
I have a plan, no more shooting from the hip!

B6: HIT
But now, I have a fit,
I’ve let my expletives slip.
You’ve sunk my Battleship!

© Walter J. Wojtanik – 2016

For POETIC ASIDES Prompt # 346 – “Coordinates”

Posted at Poetic Asides as GOING DOWN

3 thoughts on “GOING UNDER

  1. Luk Lei

    Now this is true brilliance!! I couldn’t stop laughing at the end as past explatives entered my mind from playing this game (and Monopoly to boot).

Leave a Reply

