THE STENCH OF SASQUATCH

In the scheme of our evolution
I’m not sure of your ranking,
but rest assured that you
certainly are quite rank.
You stink. (You always stank.)
you need a bath, a coiffeur and a shave.
Never a slave to fashion,
(you have no clothes)
or guided by your passion,
(YOU HAVE NO CLOTHES!)
Be you Bigfoot, or be you a yeti,
you better be ready, Freddie!
They’re planning a Sasquatch get together.
There’s going to be a stench* tonight! Whew!

© Walter J. Wojtanik – 2016

dVerse Poets Pub – Poetics: Poetry is For the Birds

*  A group of Sasquatch is a “stench”!

36 thoughts on “THE STENCH OF SASQUATCH

  1. therisa

    Lol. Thank you, Walter, for the laughter, which this poem generated. The stench of Sasquatch, probably, the most original collective noun, for an imaginary creature. 😀

  2. This made me smile, Walt! Glad that you explained abut the meaning of ‘stench’ – now you have me wondering about the origin of the term!

  3. Glenn Buttkus

    Yup, you get the dVPP prize for originality; collective nouns are cool–what a gas to use them for the prompt. Here in WA state we tale Sasquatch seriously. lots of mountains & dense forests. I wonder if the term would be a “stench of politicians”?

  4. Ha…I’ve always heard that Sasquatches stink…so an apt name for a group I suppose. I really enjoyed your fun tale of those stinky animals with the big feet! Is Big Foot the same thing as a Sasquatch…now I’m wondering…

    1. I flew the coop on this effort, Viv. Sasquatch is akin to Bigfoot, a Yeti, an abominable snowman. A larger than life myth of a giant hairy creature out in the wilderness. My second poem is more bird based!

  5. Very late to the bar I am….just posted and reading now over my Thursday morning coffee, on this one of our last days in Bermuda. This is wonderful! Chuckling I am! Love the additions of exclamation points and all caps…..can just hear the yelling at this dense stench! 🙂

Leave a Reply

