CRICKET CONCERTO

CricketNight falls, and all comes to rest as best as can be allowed. The shroud of Autumn lurks and works its way into this scene. Serene and sedate. The late summer air is soothed by symphonic sounds, pizzicato wings. A soft chirp begins the overture, and it’s for sure that it will play until morning. The strains are lilting, never wilting or reaching crescendo, a slow and steady melody. Music of the night.

hidden musician
playing through the gentle night
delight in your song

© Walter J. Wojtanik – 2016

dVerse Poets Pub – Haibun Monday #9

25 thoughts on “CRICKET CONCERTO

  1. Pingback: MORNING DANCE – THROUGH THE EYES OF A POET'S HEART

  2. This is, quite simply, gorgeous.
    I have wanted to say for a long time how much I love the way you overlap rhyme from the end of one line to the beginning of the next. It’s not only a technique I love; it’s one I believe I have sort of osmosized into my own poetical repertoire, thanks to your brilliance. Thank you.

    1. First off, you know my brilliance is only a reflection of the bright lights of the people with whom I surround myself (you being one of brilliance yourself). The technique came about by accident. I love to rhyme but it started feeling sing-songy to me. So I canned the end rhyme for the most part but looked for internal nuggets to satisfy my need to rhyme. I’m honored that you’re picking up on it!

  3. We had a cricket (many a few of them) living in an air-conditioning vent in a flat where we lived year ago. That little critter drove us nuts! 😀

  4. I love crickets… as long as they’re outside singing their love songs. This is lovely. I love the sound of your language. The rhyme works very well.

  5. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade)

    I love this one too! I like the songs of crickets, which I grew up with – and I once heard a recording where they were slowed or something, anyway it really did sound like a beautiful symphony!

  6. I envision crickets rubbing their legs and wings together to make their sounds much like a fine violin virtuoso. Pizzicato strings became pizzicato wings! Thanks for the comment, Margaret!

Leave a Reply

