SELECTIVE MEMORIES

He regaled them with his lovelorn lore, an
attempt to mask the pain of her absence.
He never mentions waking at night in shouts,
anguished pleas that far from pleased! He celebrates,
what he chooses to remember, but he certainly leaves
out how he mistreated her, never gave her a
valid reason to stay and not vacate their cherished space.

 

Golden Shovel poem using the line

an absence shouts, celebrates, leaves a space

from “Burning the Old Year” by Naomi Shihab Nye

Offered at dVerse Poet’s Pub – Poetics: Choose a Line

30 thoughts on “SELECTIVE MEMORIES

  1. I appreciate the thoughts and perspective from the male writer ~ Can I offer that he deserves his sorry lot ~

    My first time to be acquainted with this form ~ Thanks Walt ~

  2. Mary, look at the last word in each line. A “Golden Shovel” uses the words from a line in a poem as the last word in each line of the new poem. The line reads – “an absence shouts, celebrates, leaves a space”

    1. Thank you, Debi! My inappropriate form is indeed a Golden Shovel as I had noted. Robert covered it at PA a while back. I always like to learn new things and forms. It has expanded my scope far beyond my imagination!

  3. Now that I see what you are doing, you used a very interesting form….originally I did not have a clue that you had used a line from the poem. As I said on dVerse, it would have helped if you had an explanation below your poem originally or perhaps the words from the line used italicized. That would have cleared up the confusion.

Leave a Reply

