BOUND FOR NEVERLAND

Pan
“Why are you crying, boy? Are you lost, boy?”
In a manner of speaking, I am!
Who’d have guessed I would find myself here,
a lost boy in the world of learned men.
Nothing but a moral compass always
pointing due North, giving forth all
my heart desires, leaving little in reserve.
My sole existence seems to have swerved
into an unfamiliar place as I face
my aging with as much ambivalence
as that little spark remaining can ignite.
And I declare to “stand up and fight”
as I soar past the second star on the right
and straight on until morning, without warning.
I will take you as my Wendy, my friend
who knows me as well as can be imagined,
a solitary figure at the window of living dreams
only seen in stories and fables. You are able
to provide the urge to stick me to my muse,
and my shadow and everything else that slips away.
No Nana dog barking in the night, for it just seems right
that the vigilance of such protection is
taken to heart. I start to feel this tingle
of youth long forgotten, slightly rotten
but never totally elusive, or exclusive to my survival.
I feel my spirit lift. A light and airy faerie that
refuses to die since I truly believe, and I am relieved
that I am not the only fool clapping; slapping hands
together, whether you can hear me or not.
I can claim my place alongside the other lost boys,
the Michael’s and John’s and others, brothers all,
never to fall far from the tree, fulfilling this need,
I know I have to crow and let my voice be heard,
every word of this fantastic voyage of life,
looking to find a place to land in this Neverland!
When it feels life is giving me the hook
and I’m up to my knees in Smees, it’s a crock
to think that time is ticking away from me.
I’ll find my “Happy Thought” and go do what I ought to,
making as much noise along the way. The second star
to the right is the way I go. And I won’t forget to crow!

© Walter J. Wojtanik – 2016

 

dVerse Poets Pub – Me, Myself and I

12 thoughts on “BOUND FOR NEVERLAND

  1. Wistful poem digging into the reality of fantasy as it always does seem to reflect deep truth.

    I especially identify with this:

    My sole existence seems to have swerved
    into an unfamiliar place as I face
    my aging with as much ambivalence
    as that little spark remaining can ignite.

  2. Such a journey…I love this portion especially, Walt:

    “Nothing but a moral compass always
    pointing due North, giving forth all
    my heart desires, leaving little in reserve.”

    There’s something to be said for giving it our all.

    Smiles always.

  3. I will take you as my Wendy, my friend
    who knows me as well as can be imagined,
    a solitary figure at the window of living dreams
    only seen in stories and fables.

    Ah, to have such a friend.

    Nicely done.

  4. ” I start to feel this tingle of youth long forgotten, slightly rotten but never totally elusive, or exclusive to my survival.I feel my spirit lift.”
    Love this line. We hang onto the memories of our youth but it is only part of what we need to keep going. (just my interpretation). I also enjoyed the internal rhyme in your poem.

  5. Ah yes.. my friend..
    so you know/FEEL
    the secret oF
    Never land
    Now.. iS the
    onLY true
    reality free..
    wheRe We create
    both wE and the rest
    of reality as REAL AS
    iT CAN
    GeT..
    sMiLes
    and sure
    it’s more
    than a metaphor
    iT’s a feeLinG that’s REAL..:)

Leave a Reply

