IT’S NOW OR NEVER

(An American Trilogy)

I. INTRODUCTION.

From across the room, your beacon shone,
you stand alone, but are you lonesome tonight?
I believe in love at first sight and I might
settle for a little less conversation.
I gotta know your name,

your number. Your belief that love lasts
If I can dream, you can fulfill it.
I can’t help it. Falling in love is like
riding a mystery train. The destination’s
unknown. I should have known. I forgot to remember.
I forgot to forget and yet, that’s alright Mama.
The next step is love!

II. AT FIRST SIGHT.

It was one night in the garden.
You had me all shook up,
igniting a burning love that you had left
smoldering. I had always been
hardheaded, woman. But you have
softened me. You’ve showed how a heart
can caress and cajole. Love is in control.
Love me. Love me tender.
You’ve rendered me complete in love,
all night; at first sight.

III. HEARTBREAK HOTEL.

It hurts me, don’t be cruel.
I’ve been a fool being your
puppet on a string. So I sing
the blues. You’re a mean woman.
I trusted in love, suspicious minds
have minds of their own. But, you won’t see
me crying in the chapel or leaping
from any high steeple. I shall not
be moved to tears. My fears were founded
when all love was returned to sender.
Unopened, address unknown.
Stamped “insufficient emotion”.
You’ve left me in the ghetto of broken hearts and
baby, I don’t care. You’re not there.
I’m in hiding; residing in this room for one!

 

(C) Walter J Wojtanik, 2014

Based on the songs of Elvis Presley

POETIC ASIDES NOVEMBER CHAPBOOK CHALLENGE – DAY 30: INEVITABLE

Leave a Reply

