NOTHING NEW

You haven’t done nothin’
and that’s saying somethin’. For once in my life
I have found the higher ground. Lately,
I wish you could be more than a part-time lover
and discover that you’re too uptight.
Everything’s alright, lose your superstitions
and condition your heart to be more open,
more preceptive. You have me at your fingertips,
you could have me signed, sealed, delivered
but look past me to see what else is out there.
I don’t know why I love you, my cherie amour.
You’re my favorite pastime. Paradise is where
your heart resides. But it always hides
when I come into view. You’re too high
to see the big picture. You and I?
We could conquer the world, but you choose
to just be living for the city. You’re pretty,
you’re lovely I just called to say
I love you, but you’re never home.
and that’s really nothing new!

 

(C) Walter J Wojtanik, 2014

Based on the songs of Stevie Wonder

POETIC ASIDES NOVEMBER CHAPBOOK CHALLENGE – DAY 28: (BLANK) NEWS

Leave a Reply

