FAREWELL TO LOVE

Laura, where are you?
It’s a lonely town and I’m a fool
to want you. Only the lonely
sing the blues in the night.
I’m right here where and when
you need me. I wish that the girl
next door would act like someone in love.
But, I’ve got you under my skin, festering;
pestering me, coming and going
like the ebb tide. But now, I hide
in the house I live in. I guess that’s life!
I’ll find my way. Maybe you’ll be there.
It’s a lonesome old town. I guess
I’ll hang my tears out to dry!

 

(C) Walter J Wojtanik, 2014

An “Anti-Love” poem based on the songs of Frank Sinatra

POETIC ASIDES NOVEMBER CHAPBOOK CHALLENGE – DAY 25: LOVE/ANTI-LOVE

Leave a Reply

