CLOWNS (HER ANTI-LOVE PERSPECTIVE)

We had a good run, didn’t we?
But, we had gone from evergreen to a
stony end. Love was never meant to be served
on the rocks. And it shocks me to wonder,
why did I choose you? I guess I thought
I could use you before the parade passes.
Bye, bye, but I’ll try to get by on my own.
You’ve shown me that my heart belongs to me!
With one look you had touched me,
when you kissed me in the rain
I guessed that once again I was a woman in love.
But I told myself that “people can be funny, girl!”
And since then, I had gone from your precious pearl
to the second hand Rose you chose
to fester in your dirt while you would flirt
with the next beautiful bloom that came along.
All in love is fair, and there’s no returning
to the way we were. It’s for sure I’m caught
somewhere between memory and emotion.
This circus of commotion that kept me coming
in and out of your life, isn’t easy.
Don’t bother sending in any more clowns.
We had a long run, while we were here.

 

(C) Walter J Wojtanik, 2014

An “Anti-Love” poem based on the songs of Barbra Streisand

POETIC ASIDES NOVEMBER CHAPBOOK CHALLENGE – DAY 25: LOVE/ANTI-LOVE

Leave a Reply

