I’LL BE UNDER AN ASSUMED NAME

They call me Albert Flasher.
I’ve been called worse. It’s a blessing
and a curse. But, not like the nurse
who had a case of the clap for the Wolfman.
That’s the worst case scenario in this
hand me down world! But that’s his girl!
If you can, try to live by this rule: “Hang on to
your life!” It’s no laughing matter
and so unflattering to become undun!
Just for fun, I’ll follow your daughter home.
She has pretty blue eyes and she’s mine!
Believe me, there’s no time to talk.
I would ride the bus,
but the clock on the wall says it’s time
for me to be running back to Saskatoon
or there will be no sugar tonight (wink, wink)!
I think that’s how you play this game
living under an assumed name!

 

(C) Walter J Wojtanik, 2014

Based on the songs of The Guess Who

POETIC ASIDES NOVEMBER CHAPBOOK CHALLENGE – DAY 24: I’LL BE (BLANK)

Leave a Reply

