GET OFF

My cloud is crowded.
I ain’t too proud to beg, it gives no satisfaction!
But, it is all about you. It always is.
We go around and around and
the biggest mistake is taking you
at your word. You’re a dangerous beauty
with faraway eyes. It’s no surprise
you leave me standing in the shadow,
blinded by rainbows. There is no
emotional rescue for you and your heart of stone.
I’m headed for a nervous breakdown,
and nineteen should be the charm.
I’m out of tears.
I’m out of time.
I’m playing with fire with no desire
to continue. So please go home.
You’ve plundered my soul and have me
pretty beat up leaving me between
a rock and a hard place. I don’t want
to see your face. Some girls would care,
but you don’t dare. So I send you away.
I’ll stay here waiting for a friend.
You gotta move! Get off of my cloud!

 

(C) Walter J Wojtanik, 2014

Based on the songs of The Rolling Stones

POETIC ASIDES NOVEMBER CHAPBOOK CHALLENGE – DAY 22: RELEASE POEM

Leave a Reply

