MODERN DON JUAN

I’ve been searching through blue days,
black nights. I’m looking for someone to love.
You are my one desire. Love me.

Mailman, bring me no more blues!
Bring me words of love, everyday.
And take your time, that’ll be the day

I make demands but if there’s a chance,
I’ll not fade away. Listen to me,
think it over as I rave on.

Me, a modern Don Juan? Oh boy,
yet I find great joy in being infected with love.
You’re the girl on my mind in this fool’s paradise,

it’s nice early in the morning, when without warning
my heartbeat skips a bit. Maybe baby it’s true
love’s way to say “Now we’re one!”

It’s so easy to get lost in your affection,
this beautiful affliction. No more lonesome tears,
I’ve had it up to here with crying, waiting… hoping.

That makes it tough, a rough road to hoe.
But, love is strange and you’re the one.
Don’t leave your brown-eyed handsome man wishing.

Tell me what to do.
Tell me how it’s so easy.
Well…it doesn’t matter anymore, all right? Just love me.

(C) Walter J Wojtanik, 2014

Based on the songs of Buddy Holly

POETIC ASIDES NOVEMBER CHAPBOOK CHALLENGE – DAY 17: AFFLICTION POEM

Leave a Reply

